FUTURE MUST BE SWEET: Lower East Side Printshop Celebrates 40 Years

postcard_LESP copy.jpg

On view: September 18 - October 11, 2008
Curated by: Marilyn S. Kushner

Open press release
Open full checklist

With The Future Must Be Sweet, IPCNY honors the important contributions of a major non-profit New York City workshop that has provided facilities, instruction and technical and financial assistance to thousands of artists working in the medium of printmaking since its founding in 1968.

The Future Must Be Sweet was curated by Marilyn S. Kushner, Curator and Head, Department of Prints, Photographs and Architectural Collections at the New-York Historical Society. For this major retrospective, Kushner traces LESP’s path in the context of recent history, representing the past forty years with work from the Printshop’s permanent collection created by artists who have held residencies there.

The complete artists’ list is as follows: Ghada Amer, Tomie Arai, Jackie Battenfield, Mike Bidlo, Willie Birch, Zana Briski, Bullet Space, Paul Chan, Theresa Chong, Amy Cutler, Edward Del Rosario, Angie Drakopoulos, Deborah Grant, Joanne Greenbaum, Jose Guinto, Matthew Day Jackson, Glenn Ligon, Ryan McGinness, Carrie Moyer, David Opdyke, Sheila Pepe, Juan Sánchez, Dread Scott, Amy Sillman and Jef Scharf, Clarissa Sligh, Allison Smith, Kiki Smith, Donald Tarantino, Mary Temple, William Villalongo, and Kara Walker.